8.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.8
Property location
8.1
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.2
Value
8.2

Reviews

    Joko
    id

    Review score

    7.9
    19 June 2018
    For that value of money we paid, we don't get the view, window of the room we stayed are all blocked by the trees.
    Location if good and strategic between the 3 section of routing in Hakone area.
    Eunice
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    18 June 2018
    Though there was a great spread for breakfast and dinner, I felt that the quality of the food could have been better for the amount I paid. Food was okay.
    The location was superb, very convenient! It is very accessible if you have the Hakone Day Pass, with bus stops just at the doorstep of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean too. They also provided a choice of indoor or outdoor onsen.
    Aurelie Idier
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    16 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Joe
    gb

    Review score

    10
    15 June 2018

    A true must experience...so well done!

    Nothing.
    Everyth8ng - the Onsen while public was empty...as a newbie having the shower, hot sauna bath and outside naked soak was v refreshing...food bizarre and wonderful...all family dressing up for dinner and breakfast...all in all a true wow!
    Geraldf
    jp

    Review score

    8.3
    13 June 2018

    All about the milky water onsens

    An overall good ryokan and onsen experience. The milky water onsens are a must and that's definitely the best thing about this hotel. Staff is courteous but distant, the meal is good but not as season-conscious as other meals I had around Japan's ryokans.
    Kathryn
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    12 June 2018

    Fabulous food and a lovely introduction to traditional Japanese hospitality.

    We chose a bathroom without an ensuite but we would have felt more comfortable with our own bathroom.
    This was our first experience of traditional Japanese hotels and it was great fun. Loved the kimonos and weird socks that everyone was encouraged to wear whilst in the hotel - even for breakfast and dinner. We weren't keen on the naked communal bathing so booked private baths which were lovely - very hot. The food was outstanding - enjoyed everything.
    Kevin
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    11 June 2018

    Relaxing, authentic Japanese experience with amazing food!

    For Westerners, the futon and pillow can feel very firm, but this is just something you have to get used to in Japan. If this bothers you you could bring an inflatable pillow! Other than that I have nothing negative to say, everything was very nice and we felt very pampered and relaxed!
    We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Mount View for an authentic Japanese experience! We were provided with yukata to wear in our room and for meals. There was green tea and Japanese sweets in our room, along with a fridge and a good WiFi connection. We stayed in a traditional tatami room with futons which had a toilet and wash basin, but bathroom facilities were shared. This means there are communal showers and Japanese baths you can use any time, but also you can reserve a private shower and hot spring bath for an extra charge which we did each day and is a wonderful experience. We had breakfast both days and dinner one evening which were all delicious feasts, and an excellent vegetarian option was provided for my wife which she was very happy with. The staff are amazing, they explained everything to us, and also gave us a map of recommended restaurants in the area on our first night. The hotel is conveniently located close to a bus stop where you can get to Odawara or Hakone-Yumoto easily. Overall this was an excellent hotel and good value compared to similar places.
    Dmytro
    za

    Review score

    9.2
    11 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sat Q8
    kw

    Review score

    7.9
    9 June 2018

    Relaxing Stay.

    I didn't like the breakfast. It is not that the breakfast was bad, I did not like the taste. Location is very far. It takes almost one hour by the bus to reach the spot from the train station.
    The location was extremely nice surrounded by beautiful mountains. Had an amazing experience at the private Onsen. The Dinner provided was one of the best I had in Japan. Staff were really friendly. I had instant response from the property for my enquiries.
    JAVIER
    es

    Review score

    8.3
    9 June 2018
    Check out is earlier than usual, at 10.00, but it wasn’t really a problem as we had to leave to continue our trip.
    A wonderful ryokan experience for a convenient price. Big private bathroom in the room (not onsen, but a bath with shower) Both dinner and breakfast were wondeful, including A5 rank meat, fatty tuna and many other top dishes. Also the woman that attended us was very helpful explaining in english how to eat or mix some ingredients, which I guess they don’t do with locals, but for western tourists is a plus.
    Jacob Schuitemaker
    nl

    Review score

    10
    7 June 2018

    A perfect stay

    Road was near, so traffic could be heard
    The food for breakfast and dinner excelent. They were the best of my trip The privat bath perfect and the whole atmosphere refreshing
    Paweł
    pl

    Review score

    10
    6 June 2018

    Wonderful płace to rest

    Breakfast too early and to tell the truth I would skip them next time and eat something at the nearby coffee
    Incredibly delicious dinners Hot baths Beautiful interiors Staff happy to help you
    Joanna
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    5 June 2018

    Very nice ryokan

    Very nice traditional japanese guest house with beautiful view and onsen area. Food was great. This ryokan is perfect for relaxation in green area of Hakone. It is also very good located. The bus is directly in front of the place.
    Mika
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    4 June 2018
    None.
    Absolutely Amazing. Stuffs were so friendly, the service was just incredible and Dinner/Breakfast were both delicious. You just have to stay and experience it! Thank you so much for an exceptional Ryokan experience. I would 100% recommend to stay here!
    Sowmya
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    2 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elena
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    20 June 2018

    Relaxing, authentic Japanese experience with outstanding dinner and breakfast

    The private Onsen - little hot spring bath in the bamboo grove where you are soak naked was refreshing and felt wonderful Japanese style breakfast and dinner are amazing ! Dressing up in kimono for dinner and breakfast - playing table tennis in kimono - wow! The location was superb with bus stops just at the doorstep of the hotel. It is very accessible if you have the Hakone Day Pass, The room was spacious and clean.
    大夢
    jp

    Review score

    9.2
    19 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Grace
    us

    Review score

    10
    15 June 2018
    Location is very convenient — the bus stop is right in front of the hotel Staff I still very nice Both private and public onsan is great Dinner and breakfast are fantastic.
    Gary
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    8 June 2018
    Location is optimal for a front on view of Fuji. It isn’t the best location though as you have to walk around ten minutes to the lake / bus stop. I found this walk enjoyable in general though.
    This family run hotel has its own character and charm. Although I only stayed one night, I was extremely impressed by the hospitality provided by the owner, Yoshi. In a country where service is above and beyond, he tries his very best to go even beyond that. The service is less like the Four Seasons and more like a mom and dad trying to cater to anything they can in their own personal ways. There are unique touches like a jacuzzi with Fuji view, massage chairs, and live music.
    Lim
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    8 June 2018

    Wonderful experience for me and family. Loving it!

    The toilet was very small but it’s managable.
    This is my first ryokan & onsen experience. It’s wonderful. It’s HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to take the dinner and breakfast as I think it’s really nice. Will definitely choose this place again if I come back. The bus stop (T) is just right at the doorstep.
Loading reviews